Little Nippers Childcare - Qualified Primary School Teacher and Registered Childminder
About Me
Hello and welcome to my website! My name is Michelle and I am a 44 year old qualified primary school teacher and registered childminder. I believe that my experience as a teacher and as a mother of two, has set me in good stead to care for children. Not only am I able to provide a warm, fun and friendly home setting, I can also offer a play based educational environment.
I aim to provide fun and exciting first hand experiences which will encourage and support children’s development. Play will be at the centre of children’s learning, with a wide range of activities and experiences appropriate to the age and stage of development on offer.
I run the childminding business from my home which is located in a quiet street in the residential area of Allt-yr-yn, Newport.
There are some lovely parks close by where the children can explore, play and get some exercise. I also visit the local library, as the children really enjoy choosing books, and hopefully this will help them learn to love reading as much as I do! There are also local playgroups and soft-play centers in the area which I attend weekly.
About My Family
I am a single mum and have two children of my own, my daughter Lois (born 2009) and my son Jesse (born 2010). We are predominantly English speaking, although I do speak some incidental Welsh to my children and the children in my care during the day.

About My Home
We have a lovely playroom where the children spend much of their time. It is a bright and cheerful room, the perfect environment for little ones. It has a reading area, with cushions and beanbags for children to sit comfortably and read. There are play mats/gyms and soft play toys etc available for babies in my care. An arts and crafts area, with table and chairs for children to enjoy creative play etc. There are also rugs/mats for the children to sit on whilst they enjoy a range of different activities, some of these activities may include;  
☺ Arts and Crafts (play-dough, painting, colouring, junk modelling etc)
☺ Music/Instruments/Singing/Dancing
☺ Storytelling/Reading
☺ Role-play/Dressing-up
☺ Construction (Knex, mega blocks etc)
☺ Puzzles/Jigsaws/Games
☺ Number/Letter Work
The kitchen/dining area will be used for children to help prepare and enjoy the food that they have cooked, and obviously to help with the clean up afterwards! 
Older children may want to use the breakfast bar/dining area to complete homework, use the laptop etc, whilst the lounge will give them some time to switch off from school and chat, or just watch television for a short time.
We have a large rear garden which is on a split level, with a grassed area, playarea (wood chippings), and a decked area. The outdoors provides lots of opportunities for play and exploration, some activities which the children can enjoy may include the following;
☺ Sand/Water Play
☺ Slide/Swing
☺ Trampoline 
☺ Playhouse
☺ Ride on’s
☺ Scooter
☺ Trikes
☺ Gardening (facilities for growing and planting seeds etc)
☺ Outdoor Games (balls, skipping ropes, hoops, etc)
About My Qualifications/Training
 - BA in Primary Education (qualified to teach children between the ages of 3 & 11)
 - Incidental Welsh (inc with Degree)
 - Introduction to Childcare Practice
 - Paediatric First Aid
 - Basic Food Hygiene (level 1)
- Safeguarding (level 1)
If you are interested in my services and would like to discuss your requirements, please contact me on 07545 960987 or you can email me at

Please read my references below;




Website Builder provided by  Vistaprint